In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

what is a gas check?

snowy1snowy1 Member Posts: 67 ✭✭
I am new at reloading and I am seeing auctions for "gas checks" and wanted information on what they are and how or when they are used....Thanks....Snowy1

Comments

• Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    snowy1,

Gas checks are a metallic cup applied to the bottom of lead bullets to protect the base from the hot gases produced by burning gunpowder.

gascheckhornady2xv4.jpg

gaschecksapplyingof7.jpg

Best.
  • Options
    mbsamsmbsams Member Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    To add -- they are said to improve accuracy for supersonic lead loads - or the hotter lead loads - not needed for normal lead target loads under 1000 fps or so.
  • Options
    B17-P51B17-P51 Member Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    To add, gas checks are attached to the base during the sizing operation, or by the same process without sizing if the diameter is ok. I say this because there is some confusion occaisionally on this forum as to the method of attachment. They are not glued or simply pushed on. As NONONS' post shows they are crimped on amd usually will stay on through the firing and impact phases and can often be found still on the cast bullet. Nonons post also shows the gas check when seated is slightly larger than the bullet diameter. This is incorrect as it it the same size through the crimping operation. When you recast the same lead they will float to the top but cannot be reused.
    They allow for higher velocities by keeping the base of the bullet from melting and also impart a sort of "scraping action" (for lack of a better term) to the barell to reduce leading.