In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloads...Bolt Wont Close...Please Help

First off I will say I am new to reloading. I reloaded a few rounds of 22-250 and am experiencing troubles getting the bolt to close downward. I set my dies up to reload rounds to factory spec of overall length, measured with a micrometer, so I'm sure my bullet seating is correct. I am fairly sure the reloads chamber all the way judging by way the bolt goes forward, but when I go to push the bolt downward it acts like it is stuck and will not close. If anyone could help with suggestions that would be great. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    swearengineswearengine Member Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Your overall length might be alright, but I would hazard a guess that your case length is to long.
  • Options
    OdawgpOdawgp Member Posts: 5,380 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    one of two things could be happening

the shoulder might need to be bumped back a bit

overall length can be right and the shoulder still be to far forward thus stopping the bolt from closing.

or the necks are to long and you are pinching the bullet in the case this usually can be seen as a taper or very shinny spot at the very end of the case
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You are probably pushing the shoulder back during bullet seating. It is a common error. Hold up your reloaded round, looking along the case from base to shoulder. If you see a hump right at the shoulder it will prevent chambering. If this is the case, back the bullet seating die out and lower the bullet seating stem. A rifle case really does not require a crimp of any nature on the bullet to work. A couple of thousandths neck tension should hold it firmly in the case mouth.
  • Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭