In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Grounding needed for new loading bench?

coledigger4coledigger4 Member Posts: 826 ✭✭✭✭
I have reloaded for a lot of years but in no way would I call myself an expert nor do I want to be thought of as ignorant but I have a question regarding the new loading bench I am building. I have a lot of experience in the electrical field and know how important the grounding system is. As I was working on it awhile back, I did get a spark from static electricity and got to wondering if that spark was enough to ignite powder. Because of this train of thought, I was wondering if it would be a good safety precaution to run a grounding wire from the hold-down bolts for the presses to a known ground? I don't recall ever getting any static spark while loading or dispensing powder but after thinking about it and what could happen, I thought I would ask. I do keep my powder canisters in a wooden box, learned this while working with explosives, and keep the primers isolated from the powder while in storage.

Comments

• Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Static is never good around powder or other things that can burn rapidly. For the few minutes it would take to ground the equipment it might be worth the effort, at least you will sleep better. Safety while enjoying our hobby is really never wrong.
  • Options
    geeguygeeguy Member Posts: 1,047
    edited November -1
    In all handling of powders it is recommended that the "person" be grounded prior to handling. This is normally done with a "slap pad" (grounded wire attached to a pad of copper)or grounding through the shoe. Do most people do this (including myself) for hand loading, no.