In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

reloading .223 - neck expansion problem

odinsonodinson Member Posts: 126 ✭✭✭
I am new to reloading rifle ammo. So I am not completely in the dark when it come to reloading. The problem I am having is expanding the neck. I am using a RCBS two die full length set (p/n 11101). When I size the case the case enters the die, the primer pops out and then I remove the cse from the die. The neck is still too small for the bullet. In this case I am using .224" spitzer jacketed 45 gr. bullets if that helps. I will be sending the expander rod off to RCBS for repair on Monday. That's right it is now damaged as a result of a stuck case (never happened with pistol reloads)and I am frustrated. Any help will be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Do you mean the bullet catches the case mouth? Did you chamfer the inside/outside of the case mouth after sizing? It is normal to have a significant amount of neck tension with rifle catridges. As to the stuck case, an adequate amount of case lube is required for bottlenecked rifle cases. I've found range pick up cases which are swelled to the point of not being resizeable. On some of these, the case can't be forced into the sizer die and leaves a sharp ring where it stops.
  • Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    first off,..stuck case is because of not enough or no lube at all.

Now,..what do you mean the neck is too small for a bullet??? The sized neck should always be several thousandths under the dia of the bullet. The pressure needed to seat the bullet is what is known as "neck tension". If the sized round mic's at lets say ..247", and the seated round neck mics at .250",..then the round has .003" neck tension.
  • Options