In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

reloads per pound

justright58justright58 Member Posts: 333 ✭✭✭
I'm not too good at math, so... How many reloads at 7.8 grains per load can you get from a pound of powder?
Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    20gabob20gabob Member Posts: 232 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    According to my calculator should be 897.43589
  • Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,221 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There are 7000 (avoirdupois) grains in a pound.

7000 / 7.8 = 897. Figure just over 850, maybe 875, counting spillage.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    20gabob20gabob Member Posts: 232 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I MUST BE DOING SOMETHING WRONG AS WITH THE PRICE OF GUNPOWDER NOW I MAKE DOGGONE SURE THAT I DON'T SPILL ANY ROCKY.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Be aware that many companies have cut down on the amount of powder they put in the container. The label is correct the size of the container stayed the same but the can is not full Trail Boss is a large can with only 1/2 pound Most all V.V. powders are also much less then one pound.The old 20 pound drums of Bullseye started being use for amy thing more then one pound all the way down to 5 pounds before they changed to plastic JUGS .
  • Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,221 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Trail Boss is so bulky, you can't GET a pound into a standard powder bottle. Vihta-Vouri powders are normally sold by the kilo, so their original bottles held about 2.2 pounds - until US reloaders whined that they couldn't afford to buy that much at a time. So VV reduced the size of their bottles, but still measure it out in grams.