In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Rate of twist for a 6.5x55 Swedish Mauser

Bill JordanBill Jordan Member Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭✭✭
Now that I retired, I have a project in mind, (several, actually),but I'm thinking of re-barreling a Rem, 700 in .270, which isn't selling, to 6.5.
I'm thinking of a Pac-Nor barrel, and I have not talked to them yet, re[ rate of twist, bullet wgts, etc.
I'm not a hunter, (except PD's, if you call that hunting!),I've just heard this is very accurate, soft shooting, etc.
I know I have to open the bolt face, re-stock, etc, but I was a project manager in another life.
Any tips will be appreciated. Thanks; wait till I post the next project!!!
Bill Jordan

"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than to have a frontal lobotomy."

Comments

• Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Bill Jordan,

The original Swedish Mauser M96 used something along the lines of 1:7.8" twist rate. Since then a variety of twist rates have been touted as the perfect solution for the 6.5mm bullets. Basically a 1:9" twist will handle the standard hunting bullets up to the 140 gr. range. This does not include the longer VLD and target bullets which require a slightly faster twist rate in 1:8".

Opening the bolt face is only required if you use the Scandinavian brass or cartridges. The American companies; Remington, Winchester and Federal standardized on the 0.473" rim which will work with the Remington M700 chambered for the .270 Win. If your intentions involve the Scandinavian brass then the bolt face needs a tiny touch up to accommodate the 0.480" rim.

Pac-Nor barrels are O.K. although they are not as tough as I would like for my rifles. They are reasonably customer oriented though.