In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading the 500 Mag.

chiefrchiefr Member Posts: 13,777 ✭✭✭✭
I have been reloading for 38 years. I did some gun trading and ended up with a S&W 500 mag. I have reloaded both 41 & 44 Mag for years. I also cast my own bullets. I purchased Lee aluminum 450 gr bullet moulds. Are there any of you that have used the lee cast bullets? If so I am open ears to any suggestions or any suggestions to folks out there with experience reloading this caliber. I am still waiting for the dies and the brass that has been backorder for over a month. Thx in advance.

Comments

• Options
    leadburnerleadburner Member Posts: 81 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I make and load the Lee 440 grainer for a buddy of mine.I have had crimping problems with them (I use the Lee .501 sizer)with RCBS carbide dies.Sometimes the loaded round doesn't fit the chamber.I'm still fiddling with them.I've been loading 34 grns. H-110 for about 1500 fps or so(haven't run them through the crono yet).They do hit steel targets hard and with pretty good accuracy.I do know after srooting the 500 the 44 mag is a ice creamcat!!! A good light load is 16 grns HS-6.Much nicer to shoot.Have fun with your new monster!
  • Options
    leadburnerleadburner Member Posts: 81 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I forgot to mention for the heavier loads I'm using an alloy of about 18 bnh.This may be a bit hard for hunting, although I'm sure they would just put a big hole in anything you hit.
  • Options
    BLACKJACKBLACKJACK Member Posts: 472 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Chiefr
    I've got a new set of Lee 500 dies that I bought but never got the gun, went with 44 Magnum instead. If you are interested I will put them on a buy it now auction.

Black Jack [8D]
  • Options
    edited November -1