In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

help Lee Pro Progressive

I am somewhat new to reloading, and as a construction worker (if I don't find some more work I will be a ex-construction worker) my funds are limited at this moment. I have a single stage lee loader, but want to upgrade to a progressive. I know that a while back when I was looking that the Lee pro was having some problems with timing and primer seating. I really like lee, now due to price and my own lack of experience but I've always heard good things about Lee, Is this still a problem or should I see if I can hold off for a little while and get a Hornady Lock-N-Load.

Comments

• Options
    CHEVELLE427CHEVELLE427 Member Posts: 6,750
    edited November -1
    BEEN USING A PRO 1000 FOR YEARS.
    a lot of years
    they can be touchy sometimes but I'm able to work with it .you have to keep an eye on it
    I'm sure a lot better is out there but lee is what i have for now plus i have 6 turrets set up so cal swap is easy.

i refuse to use the lee auto powder DISK OR MICRO DROP. it has left a no charge more then once for me,(i don't see any way it could skip) (BUT IT DOES)

JUST so HAPPEN TO CATCH ONE ON A CHECK ,instead of at the range

it was 45acp and there was no powder in the case, next few were fine but i rigged it down and put it in the drawer.

so i skip that process with the pro 1000.
    i feel better seeing what is in the case instead of hopeing something is right in there.

and i have 2 other presses set up for the last stage, i also have been using the rcbs uniflow with lg and sm powder drops.
    it has worked out fine so far.

i normally size, de prime, flair, prime a 1000 and store them in a air tight container till i get around to powder and seating some.

my .02
  • Options
    PearywPearyw Member Posts: 3,699