In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

trapdoor smokeless load

jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
Anyone have a good load for the trapdoor springfield using imr 4198 an a 405 grainish bullet?

Comments

• Options
    cbyerlycbyerly Member Posts: 689 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    IMR 4198 is not a very suitable powder. If loaded to recommended specs, it will leave a lot of unburned powder in the barrel. The more appropriate powder is SR 4759. It was designed for large capacity cases to replace black powder. The correct load is 24 grains with a lead bullet. Is is best to place a tuft of Kapok over the powder to hold it is place over the flash hole.
  • Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have no experience with either the 45-70 or the trapdoor Springfield, so can only urge you to refer to the CORRECT section of a good load manual for this. I heartily recommend the Lyman - and also that you triple check you are in the right load pages. They are separated by action types for strength, and DO make sure your pages have not flipped on their own while the book is on the bench.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    rusty3040rusty3040 Member Posts: 131 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    popular load for trapdoors is 28 grains of imr4198 with the 405 grain bullet, i use a little dacron filler with it
  • Options
    aap2aap2 Member Posts: 203 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1