In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Black on shoulder and neck

mikecarol63mikecarol63 Member Posts: 336 ✭✭✭
Hi; I'm relatively new to reloading and I think I have a problem. But I'm not really sure.Could use some advice from you guys.
I loaded a box of 30-06 the other day, and went to try them before I loaded the other 5 boxes of shells I have. I only shot 3. I looked at the spent cases and saw that they were black on the neck and shoulder. Burnt powder? These are once fired cases I'm loading.
I'm using H4895 46gr, 150gr Hornady sp. OAL 3.367. The bullets measure .308 and have the crimp ring (Can't think of what the name of that is right now). I don't think its right for the powder burns on the shoulder and neck. What do you guys think? All advice will be appreciated. Thanks, Mike.

Comments

• Options
    sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    mikecarol63,

Yes, that is burnt powder residue. It's no big deal if it's just on the neck. Down the shoulder a ways isn't too bad. I would back the die out 1/16th or 1/8th of a turn and that will have your shoulder seated a little tighter forward. You may also want to seat your bullets out a little more (if accuracy remains good and you aren't already in the lands) and don't crimp so much. I usually just run the die down to the case when it's all the way up on the plunger. Then I set the ring. There is just a tiny crimp that way. for any match bullets I back the die out 1/4 turn to make sure it doesn't crimp.

Typically, I get just a little around the mouth of the case with most loads. Better that than give up accuracy.
  • Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1