In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Bullet Moulds: Cast Iron vs Aluminum.

chiefrchiefr Member Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭
I wonder of the many people out there who cast their own bullets prefer Lee aluminum moulds over cast iron moulds. It seems Lee is the only company that I know of that sells aluminum moulds. I have been casting bullets for 25 years and I am a big fan of aluminum, however there is a limited choice of aluminum moulds out there.

Comments

• Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    They all can make perfectly good bullets. Iron moulds wear longer but can rust. Aluminum won't rust but can be damaged.

But when I can buy four Lee moulds for the cost of one Lyman or RCBS, that settles it for me.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Rocky Raab
    They all can make perfectly good bullets. Iron moulds wear longer but can rust. Aluminum won't rust but can be damaged.

But when I can buy four Lee moulds for the cost of one Lyman or RCBS, that settles it for me.

Agree Rocky, the first time I used iron moulds, I left everything in my garage to cool. When I came back to cast more, several days later, I noticed surface rust all over my moulds. Learned a lesson there. I sprayed them with WD 40 afterwards even though it took forever for them to cool down.
    On the same subject of heat transfer, it seems to take forever for my cast iron moulds to get to the right temp. That Problem went away with aluminum moulds. Yes my alum moulds do get too hot, but if they sit for a minute, they quickly cool and I can resume casting again. Iron takes too long. I agree 100% on the cost issue. Just wish their were more choices.
  • Options