In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Primer sensitivity

jce12gajce12ga Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
Where can I get info. on primer sensitivity, or more correctly which primers have heavier or thicker cup material?
I have been reloading for several years for shotshell and pistol and some rifle.
The problem I have come across is using some of the Wolf Small Pistol Primers in a .40 S&W Sigma pistol. I have had a few misfires and I am not sure if it is the gun or the primer. Gun is fairly new and the powder I am using has been Hodgdon Universal.
I have used the Wolf Large Pistol primers in two different .45 ACP
chambered pistols with no problems.
I have used several different primer brands over the years in the .45's and could probably count the misfires I have had in 25+ years of reloading on one hand, (well maybe two). I have also used a variety of powders with the .45 ACP loads with no problem.

Any suggestions?

My relaods are conservative and based on info. available in load books andf published data for respective cartridges.

Comments

• Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    The PPC group used to lighten their trigger pull but then had Misfires with many brands of primers FEDERAL was the thinnest/ softest cup so EVERYONE used FEDERAL I think the wolf primers ARE your problem not the pistol . You need to practice to become good so buy a box of winchester remington & federal AMMO try all three and if no misfires go with that brand or brands of primers.
  • Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    Every lot has its duds. Sometimes you just get a bad lot. I've fired over 10,000 wolf primers with ONE misfire.

But either way it's a problem in your gun so I'd fire off your remaining primers and when gone, switch brands.
  • Options