In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Please teach me about sizing cast bullets

1fisher1fisher Member Posts: 1,012 ✭✭
I have done a fair bit of reloading, but am a total noob when it comes to cast bullets.

For a .300 Rook rifle, I am now casting a 85gr. bullet that comes out of the mold at .298". However, this bullet will fall right down the barrel of my rifle.

I have slugged the barrel, but I am having a hard time getting a good measurement as it is a very fine 7 groove rifling. I keep measuring it at .306" or .307".

So - what all do I need to "bump up" the bullet size from .298" to .307"??

I have read about lubrisizers, but do I really need that whole piece of equipment? I have just been lubricating the bullets in a pan and letting them dry on wax paper, so lube is not really an issue. Is there any kind of sizing die that would work in my reloading press?

Or should I just try to get a different mold that will put out a .307 or .308" bullet? (Not many around in the 85 - 90 grain sizes)

Thanks - any help will be appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    To bump it up that much you would need swage dies. CH4D sells them for $120 or so.

I would look for a suitable .308" mold myself. When it comes to lead bullets; being oversize is good, so long as it will readily chamber. 99% of the time an under size bullet will lead badly.
  • Options
    Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    You want your sized bullets to be about .001 larger than your groove diameter.
    You may need to alter your alloy, esp if your mold is supposed to be dropping at .310.