In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Trouble with new brass

guntech59guntech59 Member Posts: 23,187 ✭✭✭
I just got a bag of new Winchester brass (22-250). I checked the length of all of them. They ran from 1.900" up to 1.908. Too much variance for me,,so I decided to trim them all to the trim-to length of 1.902", just to be uniform.

I am also having a hard time getting the guide from the trimmer into the case mouth so I can trim them. Is this just because the brass is new? I have never had that problem with once (or any other number) fired brass, even after resizing.

I haven't tried to chamber any of them yet. I am still deburring case mouths and flash holes. I hope they have done a better job with the body dimensions than they did with the rest of the case.

While I am no expert (obviously) I am not a rookie either. I have been loading my own for about four years now and this is the first real trouble I've experienced.

This is only the second batch of new brass I have ever worked with. The other was Winchester 243WSSM that I necked up to 25WSSM. I had no problems with that brass at all.

Any info, suggestions or words of wisdom would be welcome!

Comments

• Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    Did you size it first? If not, the necks may be just enough out of round to cause issues. Or may not be expanded enough. I've tried loading new brass and run into both, ergo I always size new brass before the first loading.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thanks for the fast answer. No, I have not sized them yet. I always size before I trim. Wrongly perhaps, I thought I shouldn't have to size these so now I am half way (or better) through trimming them.