In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Chronograph use/Bullet velocity ranges

I am new to reloading and just ordered my first chronograph (CED M2) [:D]. When I start using it, what should I be looking for in terms of velocity spreads for a given load? Obviously if every round shoots at same velocity that is ideal, but what is considered to be a good range that would be expected to produce very tight groups if the shooter does their part? I am shooting .223 and .204. Any advice from the experts would be most apprecaited [;)]

Comments

• Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,196 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It defies common sense, but a small extreme spread does NOT predict great accuracy. Nor does a large spread predict poor accuracy. That is, for short to moderate ranges.

Most reloaders would like to see Extreme Spread down to a two-digit number, and Standard Deviation down to a single digit. But an ES of the high two-digits and an SD in the range of 20 to 25 is still pretty good.

Accuracy is dependent on many other things besides velocity consistency, so you can't say that a load with low ES and SD will be guaranteed accurate.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    bentley47bentley47 Member Posts: 78 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    For me, I don't rely on extreme spread or standard deviation. I know they are indicators of accuracy, but I rely more on group size on the paper and if it's consistent. I'm looking for the average velocity of accuracy loads. I don't have regular access to 300+ ranges, so I want to know average velocity, at different temperatures, for ballistic calculations - an indicator of where to hold for prairie dogs.