In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Cast bullets

I know this will be an opinion question, but here goes. What is the best hard stick bullet lube on the market right now? I'm looking to upgrade my cast bullet operation. I want to get a Lyman 4500 Sizer/Lubricator with a heater. I've been using a Lyman 450 (old orange) for many years now. I want to be able to ship cast bullets without all the mess.

Comments

• Options
    k_townmank_townman Member Posts: 3,588
    edited November -1
    does anyone cast their own? i'm now doing 7mm, 30cal, 357, 458, and 2 styles of 45 acp. do you mix linotype with your lead? i've been using wheel weights and spent bullets from an indoor range collector. i just got a real good deal on 1oo# of lino, wondered if anyone had set set mix?

gun control is not about guns, it is about CONTROL!
  • Options
    brier-49brier-49 Member Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Good question for castboolits .com. I just make for my own use so I don't use a hard lube.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    The hard lube May lead in some guns . Soft lube works much better In MY opinion.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by perry shooter
    The hard lube May lead in some guns . Soft lube works much better In MY opinion.

Soft lube makes an awful sticky mess when you ship bullets across the country. How could hard lube cause leading, when it's not made of lead?
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by k_townman
    quote:Originally posted by perry shooter

Soft lube makes an awful sticky mess when you ship bullets across the country. How could hard lube cause leading, when it's not made of lead?