In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Annealing cases

grandmangrandman Member Posts: 183 ✭✭✭
Can anyone give me any pros and cons of this process? Does anyone here practice this process? im fairly new to reloading and am very interested in shooting as far away as i can accurately. will this process help with accuracy? any and all info will be appreciated

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    Does anybody anneal their rifle cases? I have been reloading for a while and have never annealed any cases and was woundering if anyone has and what are the advantages. How do you do it and is worth the extra work?
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There are many threads on annealing cases; in the upper right there is a search tab, you can find a lot of information on annealing in them.

I like to anneal it does help.
  • Options
    bentley47bentley47 Member Posts: 78 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Here is a link to the best discussion on topic I have seen.
    http://www.6mmbr.com/annealing.html
    I don't have the right equipment and I have not perfected the method to get it right every time, but I would like to. My 22BR brass has a very short life without annealing.
  • Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    Hmmmm. I have mixed feelings on this.

On one hand- IF You have some sort of rig to ensure case to case uniformity in the annealing process (there's a nice one on 6mmbr.com) then I'm all for it. Even if you do it one at a time, good results can be had- again, uniformity is the key. I would chuck the case in a drill and spin it to permit uniform heat around the case, and time it- say 5 seconds or whatever- then quench the case.