In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

reloading manual???

I want to start reloading to achieve maximum accuracy in my firearms. Economics also plays a role, but mainly to go from 7/8- 3/4 moa down to 1/2 or even 1/4 moa.

What is a good manual for a novice handloader? I've read that every manual lists a variety of powders that are applicable to a given cartridge, but most are likely to reflect testing with a single rifle. Are there any you know of that tested known cartridges with a variety of rifles?

Regardless, I'm a beginner in this field, so I just need a good one to get started.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• FrancFFrancF Member Posts: 35,278 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    1st- Not all reload books are equal[:D] Get many and study.
    #2 Powder is not equal[:D] Study
    #3 Bullets are not equal[:D] study

So Now you want to reload. What Cal.? (gotta make you a good reloader, now ya got to jump the hoops[:D]).
  • 53hawkeye53hawkeye Member Posts: 4,673
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by FrancF
    1st- Not all reload books are equal[:D] Get many and study.
    #2 Powder is not equal[:D] Study
    #3 Bullets are not equal[:D] study

So Now you want to reload. What Cal.? (gotta make you a good reloader, now ya got to jump the hoops[:D]).

Thanks FrancF,
    That is what I intend. It ain't worth doing if it ain't done right.
    .243, .223, 7.62x 39 and 45/70 are a few of the CF rifles.
    .41& .44 mag, .38 super, .357, .380, 9mm, .45 auto etc. pistols
    .410, 20, and 12 gua. mostly in shotgun

I have reloaders already, from my FIL's estate, and much of the needed equip.
  • CapnMidnightCapnMidnight Member Posts: 8,520
    edited November -1
    Franc Gave you great advise, and it sounds like your headed the right way.