In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Camp Perry NRA Springfield M1A match????

4406v4406v Member Posts: 317 ✭✭✭
I am very interested in shooting in the Camp Perry NRA Springfield M1A match coming up 8-8-10

I have a new in box M1A standard and 700 rounds of Lake City 168 gr fmj ammo

My question is what else do I "need" to attend and have a good time??

I am a newbie to any type of shooting competition any pointers???

Comments

• Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Shoot your rifle at 200, 300 and 600 yards so you can predetermine the clicks up from zero at each yardage.

Practice practice and practice some more. Most new shooters do not concentrate on offhand shooting enough, awards can be had there!

A shooting coat and pad is helpful, so is a good spotting scope and a folding stool. Get a marksman diary so you can record your shots, good shooting glasses and extra muffs. Make sure you have a way to carry water. Look st some of the carts being made out of two wheelers that incorporate a stool and spotting scope mount so you don't have to play pack-mule when moving on the firing line. Do not forget a rain coat, snacks and VERY important WATER to drink, lots of it. Creedmore sports carries a lot of handy stuff.

Relax and enjoy yourself!

Find some local guys that go and team up with them.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    The weather can be 55 degrees or 105 bring WATER to the line find an old Geezer to mentor you while there . Some of the best shooters in the world pass between those famous gates . Bring money the people that support our sport set up shop with all kinds of items that are hard to find in normal stores. If you go with friends you will have more fun . Good Luck.