In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

.38 special wadcutter problem

EmmittEmmitt Member Posts: 15 ✭✭
I recently purchased a S&W Model 10 .38 special with a 4 inch barrel for my wife to target shoot with. I am new to reloading for the .38 and after some research decided on Winchester brass, CCI 500 primers, 148gr Speer HBWC, and 2.7gr of Bullseye. All went fine except for all the lead residue left on the revolver. I decided to try Rainier 148gr copper plated DEWC to eliminate the leading problem. I used the same load and after test firing ended up with a squib and a bulged barrel. Can't wait to get the bill from the gunsmith for that little mistake, but at least no one was hurt. Some may say I missed loading powder in one case. The gunsmith said to up the powder amount because of the plating. My question is what would be a proper load for this bullet?

Comments

• Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,198 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Since you already have Bullseye, try 3.5 grains.

When you say "lead residue left on the revolver" do you mean IN the bore or ON the outside of the gun? (NEITHER should be happening with that load.)
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    There was lead in the bore as well as on the frame above where the cylinder meets the barrel. It took me over an hour to clean using Tetra Gun copper solvent. We had shot 100 rounds. This revolver was in like new condition.
  • Options
    SCorversSCorvers Member Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use 3.0gr of Bullseye for target practice. The 3.5gr will work but has a little more "bark". And we don't want the ladies getting any bad flinches. The bulged barrel is interesting.
    I use a Lee powder drop for consistent loads.