In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

collet dies

ginger49023ginger49023 Member Posts: 655 ✭✭✭✭
I am just beginning to reload and have a general question on collet dies.
I am reloading .243 win. using Lee dies. I have the full neck sizer, collet and bullet seating dies.
I am having trouble getting it through my thick skull, after reading several manuals on reloading, as to whether I should use the collet die or not re this caliber.
I am guessing I should use either the full length sizer or collet but not both on the same case.
I have loaded a small test amount using Speer 85g boat-tail and Remington 80g hollow point. I have checked each case and fired with no problems and very decent accuracy.
Need some advice from people a lot smarter than me please.
thanks

Comments

• Options
    ENBLOCENBLOC Member Posts: 327 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Collet dies squeezes the case neck against a precision mandrel for a perfect bullet fit with minimum run-out. No case lube is necessary. Cases last ten times longer. Maximum accuracy is usually achieved by seating the bullet out far enough to almost touch the rifling. ONLY RELOAD CASES THAT HAVE BEEN FIRED IN YOUR GUN! These dies are not recommended for autoloaders, slide, or lever action guns. I got all this from the "Lee Reloading Catalog" 2010. Lee Precision guarantees the smallest group size, or your money back! If you have a bolt action rifle...you are good to go! Size a case, seat a bulletout long, color that bullet with a black sharpie, slowing close the bolt to seat that bullet into the rifling. Eject...you'll see the rifling marks on that bullet and now load some Ammo @ .004" over all length shorter and see if your groups get better.[;)]
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thanks