In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

cleaning brass casings

ginger49023ginger49023 Member Posts: 655 ✭✭✭✭
I am just starting out reloading and reading as much as possible.
Which is best? Tumbling the brass before de priming or after?

Comments

• Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    IMHO tumbling before sizing keeps dirt out of your dies and makes case inspection easier. After sizing with rifle cases you can tumble again to remove the lube.
  • Options
    edited November -1
  • Options
    grady mitchellgrady mitchell Member Posts: 139 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    you can get a decapping die an just decap them before tumbling or sizing but tumbling to get the lube off i just hand towel them
  • Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    If you tumble after sizing either use a very fine or very coarse media; otherwise it gets stuck in the flashole. Personally I drop them in a pot of boiling hot soapy water after sizing to remove lube, and rinse and let dry.
  • Options
    B17-P51B17-P51 Member Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Tumble then size. I do not reccomend any more tumbling.
  • Options
    skyfishskyfish Member Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Tumble before. If piece of media is in flash hole, the decapping pin will remove with primer. Last I tumble as I agree with B17.
  • Options
    yukon100jackyukon100jack Member Posts: 51 ✭✭
    edited November -1