In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Load Manual with 8mm Mauser 185 gr PSP Core-Lokt

flyingtorpedoflyingtorpedo Member Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm just starting to reload and I want a published manual that has load data using the Remington 185 grain PSP in 8mm mauser. It's not that I don't trust you all, it's just that because I'm a noob I want actual published data, and I'd like to have another manual as well. I know it most likely be JS pressure but I'd actually prefer the light loads because it's just for plinking and I'm nothing but skin and bone. Does Lee's Modern Reloading 2nd Edition have it? I was thinking about checking it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, and have a SAFE and Happy New Year! [:D]

Comments

• Options
    sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    flyingtorpedo,

The only thing they show is a 187 gr. bullet. Both loads for that are driven by Vectan powder.

I recommend going up in bullet weight and starting at the starting point of the next bullet weight up. You don't have to worry about underloading the case as long as you have at least 70% of the internal volume filled. You will no doubt get that with some of the slower powders listed. My personal suggestion is to start with 44 gr. of IMR4064 and work from there. You won't underload the case and you are not up near max.

If it were me attempting to do what you want I would see if Remington would give you a load. The best powder I've worked with for the 8mm has been IMR4064. For some reason in any of the 8mm's I've loaded for I haven't gotten 4350 to work as well. Anyways, check with them first.
  • Options
    WulfmannWulfmann Member Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have gone way beyond any manual for developing light loads in 8MM Mauser. Always work down from known data.