In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Rook rifle loads

kbmolykbmoly Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, and would like to ask for some help with a really new project gun. I've just come into a single shot rifle (24" BBL) in .32 S&W Long, and would like to put up some whisper loads for it, to use squirrel hunting. I'm thinking something on the order of 311291 (~ 170g) over a case as full of IMR 4227 or IMR 3031 as the seating length will let me get into the case.

If I happen to miss a squirrel, I want him to wonder at the size of the flies this year, not to take alarm at the blast and skeddadle while I'm reloading. Any thoughts anyone?

Comments

• Options
    jaegermisterjaegermister Member Posts: 692 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have a similar rook rifle (would like to see pic of yours/email me),
    but in caliber .300 Sherwood. Nearly identical ballistics to your 32.
    I tried squirrel hunting at 900fps, not enough punch. You would think just the bullet weight and dia would crunch squirrel bones and put em down...nope. Knocked them off the limb but they get back up. I detest shooting a squirrel and have 'em drag away...I want to eat em! So I upped the load, then upped some more, it wasn't till I reached 1400fps that I could count on squirrel stew. Well that put me out of subsonic and making noise exceeding a 22mag. I found 4198 powder to give good burn and case filling. Now if you could guarantee a perfect head shot everytime go for it.
  • Options
    MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,972 ******
    edited November -1
    ".32 S&W Long"..........I would tink that those powders are way to slow for that sized case, even in a rifle. I'd try one of the slower pistol powders (unique, a.a. #6)
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by MIKE WISKEY