In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Why can't Yugo 7.62x39 brass be reloaded?

Maybe this is just a dumb question but I am new to the whole gun scene having built my first AK only 2 years ago and rewelding an Uzi last week. I have never reloaded but have watched it being done.

I am about to purchase a few cases of Yugo ammo for plinking and was told at the gun shop that the brass cannot be reloaded but offered no real explanation other than one of them thought the primers were unavailable for reloading. I took a Yugo round and a Remington round (both 7.62x39 of course) and they looked exactly the same to me on the outside, even the diameter of the primers. I plan to shoot one of each and take the cases apart to measure everything to see for myself but was hoping someone might have a quick answer for me, thanks.

Comments

• Options
    cpermdcpermd Member Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Look up the difference in Berdan and Boxer primers.

CP
  • Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    It can be reloaded... if you have a source of Berdan primers and want to go through the hassle of the berdan decapping method.

The primer pocket is very close in size (diameter) to a standard boxer primer, but is just a tad looser. Plus the anvil difference.

For oddball calibers like my 6.5 dutch, I bother with berdan reloading. For everything else, I just use boxer brass.
  • Options
    got2go2fastgot2go2fast Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks guys, those two words, boxer and berdan, were the impetus I needed to get the info I seeked!

Flash holes, anvils, cups and pockets, OH MY! the things I have learned today!

How the hell did anyone learn anything before computers and the interweb?