In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

uniflo powder measure

rdbradleyrdbradley Member Posts: 33 ✭✭
Hi, Im new to reloading and was wondering if it is normal for my rcbs pwder measure to throw inconsitent charges, as much as 3 to 5 grains +/-. one time might be right on, the next might be 3-5 grains over or under. I keep adjusting and never is consistent,so I just adjust with the trickler. Any help would be great.

Comments

• Options
    Mk 19Mk 19 Member Posts: 8,170
    edited November -1
    The powder you are using may have something to do with this problem. If you are using a flake or ball powder you have a problem with your measure. If you are using an extruded powder the problem lies with the powder choice. Extruded powders do not meter very well out of a powder measure and have a tendency to "bridge" giving to poor drops. I hand trickle for every cartridge that I load when using extruded powders just for this problem.
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    A consistent method of operation is the key to repeatable results. Long stick powders can be the most difficult to get set but you should be able to consistently get + or-.01 grains, accurate enough for 99.9% of reloading.

When setting the charge make sure you have the correct sized drum for the application and do a light TAP-TAP at the top of the throw and a slightly heavier TAP-TAP-TAP at the bottom with the handle to settle the powder.

What powder are you using?
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I believe my measure came with only one drum. I am using IMR 4831 and I have been clicking the handle top and bottom sometimes seeing a few extra kernels falling out. It seems when I start up with the handle it catches and I think cuts some of the powder. I try to keep a smoothe and even motion
  • Options