In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

rcbs dies

Im new to reloading, using all rcbs equip. Can I use different brand dies other than rcbs and if so wich ones should I shy away from/

Thanks to all

Comments

• Options
    rdbradleyrdbradley Member Posts: 33 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Are the competition dies worth the extra $$ over the standard dies? I am looking atthe 22-250 ones. Thanks.

Todd
  • Options
    Colonel PlinkColonel Plink Member Posts: 16,460
    edited November -1
    Most modern reloading dies are threaded the same, so they should work in your press.

Some guys like Lee (I do)

Some are RCBS guys (That'd be me)

Others are fond of Redding (Like me, for instance)

They all fit in my RCBS presses, my old Lyman press and an old Herters that I once had.
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Presses and dies made for the past 50 years or so all use a standard 7/8th-14 thread. Some specialized presses and dies are made but unless it is listed as being "special thread" you can use any manufacturers dies in any press.
  • Options
    FrancFFrancF Member Posts: 35,278 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Same as above, only diff, some use nuts, some use locking rings.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thaanks, I was looking to buy some used dies for a good price but didnt want peformance to suffer.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Usually the dies are not the fault of performance or accuracy (I know what your saying[:)])but usually every little thing in between.
    Case prep
    Primer seating
    Bullet concentricity from case to bore
    and the list goes on.
  • Options
    partisanpartisan Member Posts: 6,414
    edited November -1