In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Hodgdon Universal & H110 Questions

floorguy24floorguy24 Member Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm currently using Hodgdon Universal for my 44 Magnum & 44 Special pistol loads and have noticed more smoke than other factory loads I've shot.

I'm OK with it, but want to know if anyone else has noticed it as well? Maybe it's just me, and I'm seeing things.

I'm also looking at getting the Hodgdon H110 for the 44 Magnum loads only. Is this a good powder?

Currently, I'm trying to go with Hodgdon powders simply due their availability at the nearby Bass Pro Shops. Otherwise, I'd try other powders.

Comments

• Options
    PearywPearyw Member Posts: 3,699
    edited November -1
    I have been using it in 44 Magnum for the last 30 years with good results.
  • Options
    Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What bullets?
    Most smoke is from smoldering bullet lube on cast bullets.
    Jacketed bullets show only the smoke from the powder itself. Which is not much with any powder I have loaded with.
  • Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,198 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What Hawk said.

Universal is a great powder for light to medium loads. H110 is a full-throttle powder that is not safe to reduce from maximum charge. So H110(W296) is a one-trick pony.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1
    I've used H-110 for about 30+ years for my 44mag hunting loads.
    Works very good. There is only about a 1.0-2.0gr. range in the Hodgdon load data for use with all bullet weights.
    Stick with that data and you will be OK.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Hawk Carse
    What bullets?