In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

5.56 reloading dies

I'm just starting out with reloading. I have a Lee Challenger press with the "Anniversary" reloading kit. I'd like to start out with reloading .223/5.56 and that's where I'm running into a snare. All of my empty brass is Lake City. The reviews on the dies I'm looking at all say not to use with mil cases. Where can I find a set of dies that will work with my surplus brass or was it operator error on the part of the people using the .223 dies with mil cases?

Comments

• Options
    BHAVINBHAVIN Member Posts: 3,490 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use Both Dillon and RCBS 223 dies. I load thousands of LC brass a year and all of it several times and never have had any issues with it.
  • Options
    243winxb243winxb Member Posts: 264 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    RCBS will tell you to use small base dies for auto loading rifles. Small base dies will size a few .001"s smaller in most areas of the brass. Using standard dies has worked for me when loading for all types of actions. You may need to swage the primer pocker, as most LC brass has a crimped in primer. Loading data for 223/5.56 is the same. Start low on the powder charge and work up as always. More great info here > http://www.6mmbr.com/223Rem.html On this link page,Sierra has load data for bolt or Auto.
    [url] https://saami.org [/url]
  • Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1