In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Alright stubby

bang250bang250 Member Posts: 8,021
quote:Originally posted by stubnoid
quote:Originally posted by bang250
That yote has the jaws of a pitbull. [:D]

The dog we used on that run(Slim), found out first hand. That * got hold of his ear, and split it from top to bottom.

The very first forum I ever joined was a coyote hunting forum. Most of the people there used dogs. I never could understand it but I've never done it. Like skydiving, don't really get it but haven't tried it so I can't really have an opinion i guess. How does it work, like how do you keep up with the dogs? Radio collars? and how does that work? seriously, I have zero knowledge on this really. other than what I read on that forum years ago.

Comments

• Gregor62Gregor62 Member Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    We start about 30 min. before daylight scouting tracks. The snow conditions always dictate the hunt, in regards to dog performance. We put down one dog(unless training a pup), on the best track found by the group. Usually two of us will go in with the dog, and stay as close as possible. That becomes difficult/impossible once the yote is "jumped" and the dog picks up the pace, and you lose visual. At this point we rely on the dog howling to track direction/location.

Our group normally consists of 6 guys, and we try to cover one mile blocks. We position ourselves at known crossing points the yotes use, usually a fence line, stream bed, or narrow points between sections of timber. When the dog/yote cross into the next mile, we pile into the trucks and move, and so on. We have had one run last as long as 4 hours, and cover approx. 11 miles. A cardio work-out for all involved.

Yes the dog has a tracking collar on it.The breeds we use are Blue Tic, or Red Bone.