In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

How far would you shoot?

salzosalzo Member Posts: 6,396 ✭✭
I recently finished Saxton Popes book about archery and bow hunting. Really enjoyed it, but man some of the stuff he wrote leaves me wondering whether or not Saxton was full of poop.

He said, that a typical shot on a deer is 80 to 120 yards! I am wondering if his ruler was a bit off. He used a longbow with a sixty to seventy pound pull. Does the distance seem a tad extreme, certainly not typical?
I dont feel comfortable shooting a deer beyond twenty five yards-that is due to my own limitations. But since I started practicing, I have been practicing out to 53 yards, and I am very suprised with my acuracy. I am hoping by the end of the summer to feel comfortable taking a forty yard shot on an animal. In order for mew to feel comfortable, I have to consistently hit a three inch target. But even if I am confident with the accuracy of the shot, how about the energy requirement?? Is 40 yards extreme for a bow set to 62lbs? How about fifty, or sixty yards? Is that arrow going to hit the deer and pop off?
The one thing I have been very suprised about, is when I am taking 53 yard shots, they often go right through the target. I expected that they would not penetrate as far as a twenty five yard shot would, but a twenty five shot never results in a pass through.
Perhaps I am confused by the physics, but does the fact that when I am shooting at the farther distance, I am "arching" the shot, and the arrow aquires more energy as it comes down? I am confused.[:I][:I][:I][:I]

"Waiting tables is what you know, making cheese is what I know-lets stick with what we know!"
-Jimmy the cheese man

Comments

• Options
    fishermanbenfishermanben Member Posts: 15,370
    edited November -1