In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

recurve bows

sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
Howdy,

I'm relatively new to the sport of bowhunting. I did grow up shooting the standard 22 lb. fiberglass bow at jackrabbits and haybales. Now that I've done quite a bit of rifle hunting I'm interested in going after deer with a bow. As a gift to my son, because he got interested in bowhunting from a few friends of mine out in Nevada, I got him a used Bear (Kodiak?).
I have to say though over the years that even though I've shot compounds mostly when I do shoot, I prefer a recurve bow.
Does anyone know of a good bow in the 35-50 lb. range that has a reasonable price tag....also if I get a chance to buy one used what brand do most of you prefer? Thanks

We have the second amendment so that all the rest are secure....UNK>

Comments

• shoff14shoff14 Member Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would prefer hand made if it was me. PSE, Martin, and Bear all make a recurve for under $300. All good brands, and trusted in anrchery. You will probably want to make sure you are over 40lb cause most states that is the least ammount of poundage you can have on a bow.
  • sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Shoff14,

Thanks, Something to keep in mind for where I'm going to hunt. How much do you use?

• shoff14shoff14 Member Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1