In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

New Bow Hunter

oliver21117oliver21117 Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
I received Hoyt Magnatec Bow ZR200 (50-60 lb draw Weight) for Xmas. I have a few questions and concerns since I am new to the sport.

1. Is a 50-60 lb. draw weight sufficient for Deer?
2.What is the average draw weight for the average bow hunter?
3. Am I compromising speed if I do not upgrade to a heavier draw weight.
4. Can I upgrade cams and limbs after becoming familiar with the bow?
5. Any overall opinion on the Hoyt magnatec is it a good choice and where does it stand on quality of bows.

Any hints or tips are appreciated

Thanks again

Avid Hunter

Comments

• Options
    mkirklandmkirkland Member Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hey Oliver welcome to the sport! This thread doesn't see much activity but if you go to the FORUM link on hoytusa.com or archerytalk.com and ask the same question I am sure there will be some good input. I myself am new to the sport(one month) I have the Magnatec w/ the cam1/2 and the xt2000 limbs. I love it and I don't think I will be needing anything new for awhile. Good Luck![8D]
  • Options
    danski26danski26 Member Posts: 284 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I just purchased an 03 Hoyt Razortec and love it so far. As to your questions, Hoyt is a very respected name in the archery business. Earl Hoyt "the company founder" was truly a pioneer in early modern archery. As long as the bow fits you I dont think you can go wrong with a Hoyt.