In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Need help with my grip

KrisWKrisW Member Posts: 633 ✭✭✭✭
I have seen and been told several things about the proper way to hold a bow. Most people i know make a V with the thumb and fingers and never actually hold it. Some grip it with the thumb and forefinger. I started off shooting this way but for some reason my accuracy is going to crap. After a few shots i can start shooting like i would like. But the first couple are never on target. But if I grab the bow like i was carrying it, i seem to be able to control it better, especially when i am at full draw for a very long time. I am new to all this and this will be my first year to archery hunt. I know i wont be getting practice shots at deer in the woods and the first one has to count. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    dcso3009dcso3009 Member Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The most important thing is consistency. If you are comfortable shooting one way then stick with it now that you are this close to season. Take it for a person who learned to shoot with a new anchor point this year... Consistency takes time and practice. The grip I use is a totally relaxed hand with the back strap of the grip running down the meaty part of my thumb. I don't grip or extend my fingers like some do. I find there is less torqing of the bow this way. All of the control then goes to the tension of the string being drawn.
    I hope this helps
  • Options
    Slash0311Slash0311 Member Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1