In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Affordable longbows..??

cwinncwinn Member Posts: 1,223 ✭✭
Im new to the world of archery and want to learn to use a longbow, for enjoyment and possibly hunting down the rode. Can anyone make a suggestion for a affordable longbow maker?? also can anyone give me a good resource or reading material to learn how to shoot one?? thanks

Comments

• Options
    SunraySunray Member Posts: 773 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Go here: http://www.taylorbows.com/order_page.htm
    I have one of his bows. Cost me about $180 Cdn. Mine is only 40 lbs. but I don't hunt with it. I can shoot it mostly all day witout hurting myself. (Check your State laws about minimum poundage allowed for bow hunting. It's 45 lbs up here.) Can't shoot it worth beans either(operator failure), but with any bow, you push the bow at the same time as you pull the string. You use your back and shoulder muscles. Not your arms. That's how all those little English archers pulled those 120-180lb long bows in the 14th century. Mind you, they did practice a bit.
    I'd suggest you join an archery club. You'll be able to get some help from other members. Oh and don't try to shoot all day the first day. Unless you drive a semi and have strong back and shoulder muscles.
  • Options
    blackwidowblackwidow Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
    edited November -1