In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

muzzleloader tips

edgecamedgecam Member Posts: 3,280
I bought my first muzzleloader recently. It is an older knight. I wanted to know If You guys have any tips as to the cleaning and care of my muzzle loader. I am planning on takeing it out to shoot this weekend and get a feel for it before I take it hunting.

Comments

• edgecamedgecam Member Posts: 3,280
    edited November -1
    Im completely new to the muzzleloading game i got a tc impact for my birthday and in looking for tips on a little bit of everything, thanks
  • navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Clean black powder or Pyrodex with hot water (a little dish soap helps) after shooting. Wipe dry the bore. Check for rust the next day. Make sure the breech area is clean and dry. Oil / grease the bore for storage.
    During hunting you can use windshield washer solvent or hand / baby wipes to clean the bore after firing. Clean with water when you get home. Wipe out the oil in the bore before loading and snap a cap to make sure the nipple vent is clear.
    Try to get an Owners Manual or some written material on inline muzzle loaders.
  • redhead71redhead71 Member Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by navc130
    Clean black powder or Pyrodex with hot water (a little dish soap helps) after shooting. Wipe dry the bore. Check for rust the next day. Make sure the breech area is clean and dry. Oil / grease the bore for storage.
    During hunting you can use windshield washer solvent or hand / baby wipes to clean the bore after firing. Clean with water when you get home. Wipe out the oil in the bore before loading and snap a cap to make sure the nipple vent is clear.
    Try to get an Owners Manual or some written material on inline muzzle loaders.