In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Help on BP Rifle for deer hunting

pwilliepwillie Member Posts: 20,253 ✭✭✭
It looks like my part of the state will have a BP season,and since I'm new to BP,what is a good non-having to clean BP rifle?Like Plastic stocks and SST barrels

Comments

• Options
    hillbillehillbille Member Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    non having to clean????? there is no such black powder rifle, If you are going to shoot muzzleloaders you will have to clean them, part of life. I guess you could get the savage that uses smokeless powder, but to me this isn't muzzleloader hunting. To each their own.....

I think you need to suck it up, go buy some real black powder, a real muzzleloader, or flintlock, and then go and get DIRTY!!!!!!!!! enjoy life the way it used to be, the thrill of the hunt will be much more enjoyable, it will get frustrating at times, misfires, and just plain misses, but when you kill that first deer the old fashion way it will be much, much more enjoyable.

once the gov't gets all you're cartridge guns, this may be all you have left to hunt with.........[V][V]
  • Options
    steve45steve45 Member Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thompson Center Omega, Ive never seen one that was'nt accurate.
  • Options
    anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    If you want to go with an in-line muzzle loader, first check with your state regulations. And as was mentioned the Thompson Center Omega 50 is hard to beat. I've had mine for ten years and it works great.

Yes, clean up is a hassle, but if you use a BP substitute like Hodgdon 777 it is not so bad! That is my preferred powder, and it is available in pellets that make pretty fast reloading possible. They make all kinds of conical bullets that really do the job.