In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

new to muzzleloading

MN HunterMN Hunter Member Posts: 2,299 ✭✭
I have just bought a replacia 1863 Remington Zouave from GB. It was my poot luck that the rifle did not come with an instuction booklet.
What I need to know is what equipment I need to get, what powder & primer to use and what shot to use? The rifle did come with a really cheap and cheeze powder flasj made from what I think my be brass.

T.I.A.

Comments

• Options
    MN HunterMN Hunter Member Posts: 2,299 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    hey guys, im new to the sport and hoping you guys can throw some info in my direction. i guess im looking for do's, dont's, maybe what 'loads' you have used...which you believe work good (deer, elk, etc), bullets, cleaners, etc etc ive never shot one and im getting pretty dang anxious to hit the range...so anything you can offer up would be great!

if it matters, its a knight revolution II.

many thanks.

scott
  • Options
    realtree2realtree2 Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Take your time. Learn your gun inside and out, and then experiment with different powders/pellets, primers and bullets until you find what works for you.

I have a traditional .50cal but I use Clean Shot black powder substitute and a ~350 grain remington bullet for hunting and a .490 round ball for my competitions. The Clean Shot is fantastic, I can literally shoot all day without having to clean the barrel.
  • Options
    longbow589longbow589 Member Posts: 60 ✭✭
    edited November -1