In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

rookie needs help with omega

bigge8882bigge8882 Member Posts: 24 ✭✭
Im new to muzzleloading, I just bought t/c omega i shot it 15 times over the weekend. I sighted the simmons 3-9x32 scope in at 100 yards got 3 1/2 inch groups using 240 grain xtp mags and 2 777 pellets. I see most deer at around 25-50 yards but my buddy says I should be getting tighter groups. Has anyone else used simmons 3-9x32 on inline muzzleloaders? I got it at wally world to get me by this season and maybe upgrade next year. It is actually made for t/c omegas. Is the scope or the load causing me problems? any help greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,242 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You should be getting a lot better accuracy. Of course, your groups are fine for fifty yard shots.
    Most guys who want real good accuracy use powder, not pellets. It is possible that a gun that gets 3 inch groups with 100 gr. of pellets would get 2 inch groups with 90 gr. of powder. And, it could tighten up to 1 1/2 inch groups with 85 gr. One Omega will shoot differently from another Omega, you just have to experiment.
    I know a guy who shoots lots of deer with an Omega and his favorite load is 85 gr of 777 and the Barnes 245 gr. Spitfire.
    So, first I would buy powder and adjust the load DOWN, in five grain increments and see if you get an improvement.
    If you are still not happy, try the Barnes bullet.