In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Shilo Sharps .45-110 "The Quigley"

brown3345brown3345 Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
My father just gave me one of his rifles that he does not shoot anymore, It's a Shilo Sharps .45-110 Bullalo Rifle "The Quigley". Although I have a lot of experience with shooting and reloading, I know alomst nothing about Blackpowder cartridge guns. Does anyone have any advise on reloading with this type of gun?

Comments

• Options
    Spider7115Spider7115 Member, Moderator Posts: 29,714 ******
    edited November -1
    Try the Shiloh Sharps forums - I'm sure they'll be happy to assist you. http://www.shilohrifle.com/forums/
  • Options
    surbat6surbat6 Member Posts: 485 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    If you intend to load those 2 7/8 inch cartridges with black powder, I suggest you read Loading the Black Powder Rifle Cartridge by Paul Matthews.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thanks so much, looks like an interesting rifle to shoot. He never got a chance to shoot it much due to his failing eyesight. Hopefully I can take him out to listen to it sound off like I think it will.
  • Options
    allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,242 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    All I know is, those guns go for about $1,600 in Cabelas.
    I wish your father would give me a rifle!
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Just went over to the Shilo Sharps website www.shilorifle.com and found that models base price starts at $2,953.00. He sold a couple shotguns, W W Greener's I think and bought this. As I recall he was on a very long waiting list to get it. I wish I never knew how much it cost, now I am afraid I might scratch it! But being as heavy as it is I don't think I will ever take it into the swamps Deer hunting.
  • Options
    darksiderdarksider Member Posts: 34 ✭✭
    edited November -1