In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

taurus gaucho...action problems on new gun

espo28espo28 Member Posts: 44 ✭✭
Just purchased a brand new Taurus Gaucho for some cowboy action shooting. Wanted a Colt clone and this one REALLY felt smooth. Got it home and realized that the almost hair trigger action was a harbinger of difficulty...turns out that after just a few pulls (dry firing fortunately) that the hammer would slip out of full cock and fire without any trigger pull! Wow, back it will go to Cabela's...but I was wondering what the real problem is here, is it a spring problem (sear,gate catch,main,firing pin???), transfer bar??? What should I look for next time, I'm a newbie to this and certainly no gunsmith, thanks for your help.

Mike

Comments

• Options
    surbat6surbat6 Member Posts: 485 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The nose of the trigger contacts a notch on the hammer at full cock. I'd guess that either there's a bit of dirt or a burr on the trigger nose or the full cock notch (hopefully). I hope you DON'T have a problem with soft metal wear or a broken part (either might cause a hair trigger or the hammer falling from full cock).
    To straighten out the problem, you'll have to disassemble the gun and examine the parts.
    Cleaning should eliminate dirt or hardened oil, careful stoning with a Hard Arkansas hone should take off a burr (don't change the angle of the engagement surfaces).
    Broken or badly worn parts will have to be ordered and fitted by hand, or the revolver will have to be sent back for factory repair.
  • Options
    edited November -1