In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Smokeless in Shiloh Sharps

1895man1895man Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
It has Taken me 3 Years but my Shiloh Sharps 45-70 Business Rifle has Arrived. My main Interest is in Offhand Target Shooting, Hunting and Shooting with friends for fun. I had planned to shoot Factory 45-70 loadings 300 Gr. or 405 Gr. Jacketed or Custom Reloaded rounds with 405 Gr Rem. Jacketed Bullets. I have shot these in several Browning 86's over the past several years with no problems and fairly good accuracy. I felt that I could do the same in my Shiloh. I have read some posts on other Web Sites that Smokeless Powder and Jacketed Bullets will ruin this Rifle. The more I read, I find that Black Powder is the way to go. My concern is, I have very little Reloading Experience, it all seems very confusing.
What are some other shooters thoughts?
Any Good Books on Blackpowder Cartridge Reloading?
Is it as complicated as is sounds?
Thanks for your Replies!

Comments

• Options
    oldgunneroldgunner Member Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It has been my understanding that the replica breech loaders were made to handle smokeless powder, but I have no experience with them. It seems like an excellent question for the manufacturor. I'd very much like to hear the answer myself, but not just opinions. Get it from the horses mouth.
  • Options
    allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,229 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    http://www.graybeardoutdoors.com/smf/index.php?board=35.0

Black Powder Cartridge Rifle Shooting and Reloading Forum
  • Options
    Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Shiloh gun, Shiloh board, Shiloh people on the "support" section.
    http://www.shilohrifle.com/forums/