In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

patch thickness

rja72rja72 Member Posts: 141 ✭✭✭
I have a .50 cal Cabela's Hawken with 1 in 48 twist. I am looking for some feedback on patch thickness. From what I have been told and read on this post, you have to experiment with what works best in your gun. Is there a patch thickness that more often than not will work best in most guns? Will prelubed versus split lubed make a big difference? Is there a general rule about how tight the patch and ball should fit?
Thanks

Comments

• anderskandersk Member Posts: 3,627 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    These are great questions! I have about ths same ones. I've been shooting my Omega 50 for four years, but now I am getting more primative. I have a .50 cal Hawken, too. And when I was shooting with friends the other day, he said I gotta stop using those pre-lubed patches with a real "muzzle loader!" Maybe I need to start over with a real gun![;)] I'm having fun with it!

I should check my twist, too. I got my Italian made Hawken used; and the bore was a mess, but I think it is cleaning up OK.
  • lonewolf5347lonewolf5347 Member Posts: 1 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Walmart has pillow patch material blue and white stripe runs .017
    excellent patch material for round balls.
    I like to use my own patch lube beeswax and lard 60/40 and a table spoon of olive oil.
    I also like using a wonder wad under the pached round ball a world of difference,my powder of choice in all my flinters is goex 3F
    wash the material first pre-cut patches lube with the beeswax and lard
  • oldfriendsoldfriends Member Posts: 167 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1