In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

1897 shotguns

shootuadealshootuadeal Member Posts: 5,242 ✭✭✭✭
i have been looking for an 1897 shotgun, i wanted an original but i they seem to be overpriced right now. i have a norinco on the shelf of my store right now but i just dont know if they are worth it either. does anyone have one? i would like to know how well they work for cas. i have been shooting for about 5 years and have been using a baikal 12 ga 20" with hammers, i can shoot pistol and rifle as fast as anyone in my state but i take almost twice as long to load cock and shoot my shotgun. i dont mind spending money for quality but 500 bucks for a used winchester that may or may not work i just dont know about.

Comments

• Options
    TimothyTimothy Member Posts: 21 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'd give the norinco a shot since their affordable and geared toward the cas crowd. But $500.00 isnt too bad for an original either and it probably will work and give a lifetime of service. Good luck
  • Options
    CapnMidnightCapnMidnight Member Posts: 8,520
    edited November -1
    I have an original 97 that I shoot at the trap range once in a while, it' a take down, as most are, and works just like a new one.
    Send me an email from my profile.
    W.D.
  • Options
    fire for effectfire for effect Member Posts: 121 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have been able to get originals right here on Gun Broker for $300.00 or under. just have to keep looking.
  • Options
    breakerdanbreakerdan Member Posts: 364 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The original Winchester will be faster unless you have a Norinco action-jobbed. Besides the Winchester is an investment. I have fired at least 1000 rounds out of my 1924 vintage '97 and it belonged to a cowboy shooter before me. You just cant kill em.
  • Options