In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

45-70,40-82,40-90 questions

beachmaster73beachmaster73 Member Posts: 3,011 ✭✭
OK guys. This is my first time on the black powder forum....please indulge the newbie and refrain from a mass * pork probe on me!!!

I'm close to making decision on getting an 1874 Shiloh Sharps or Ballard 1885 High Wall. I sort of asked the question on another forum and received some decent input. I need more. Now here's the deal I have an original 1886 Winchester in 40-82. I really enjoy it. The Ballard seemed attractive because they have no problem building a rifle in that caliber. Shiloh doesn't have a 40-82 just a 40-90. Can the brass between the two calibers be interchangeable. I know that a long time ago I used the universal .45 brass to make my 40-82 brass. Can the same stuff be used for 40-90 or is it a totally different shape etc....I didn't even know about 40-90's until very recently. Would it be a capital NO-NO to run .40-82 through a .40-90?..... Would I just be better off to say the heck with it and settle for the non-complications of the .45-70. And remember you guys all of your contributions will be appreciated by this here-to-fore non-black powder shooter[:)]! Thanks to all, Beach.

P.S. The really neat thing is that I am only about 45 miles from the Ballard Rifle Works and they have said that with an appointment I can visit and check out the establishment and see the quality of their craftsmanship. Beach

Comments

• Options
    MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,976 ******
    edited November -1
    "I can visit and check out the establishment and see the quality of their craftsmanship. Beach"... I cann't help with the .40/90 but the first item on your 'to do' list should be a 45 mile drive[:)]. Personlly I'd go with the .40/82 (second choice would be .45/70)