In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Stuck minnie ball

te1980te1980 Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
Well, I've got a Minnie stuck about 6 inches above the powder charge. I've tried pulling it but the puller just pulled out of the soft lead and now will not bite into the bullet. Should I seat the ball down to the charge by driving it down with a hammer and a steel rod and then shoot it out or not? I'm thinking that with the ball being that tight in the bore, the pressure might be too high and buldge or split the barrel but I'm fairly new to blackpowder shooting so any help would be great. Thanks

Comments

• Chief ShawayChief Shaway Member, Moderator Posts: 6,191 ******
    edited November -1
    How did it get stuck? What type of weapon is it and how old? With a quality barrel it shouldn't hurt to drive it down and fire it out. Most ML rifle barells are fairly thick.
    I've seen double charged rounds go off as well as double loaded charges with no problem. Just make sure that it is seated on the powder charge and you should be fine.
    If you do feel worried, tie it to a tire and fix a string to the trigger.
  • te1980te1980 Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    It's a reproduction .577 cal. 1853 Enfield musket. It is only about a year old so it is good steel but it has a round barrel so I'm not sure about the thickness of it. It got stuck because I forgot to swab out the barrel after 3 or 4 shots as I usually do so it was fouled pretty bad. I remembered on the 5th load when the ball jammed up 3/4 of the way down and I got that sick "oh crap" feeling. I have got by with it before, just not this time. I'm shooting .575 Minnie balls and they're a bit snug, but I've never had a problem as long as I swab out every few rounds.
  • hunterXhunterX Member Posts: 75 ✭✭
    edited November -1