In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

New to Muzzleloading

MAdWizardMAdWizard Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
I have just bought a replacia 1863 Remington Zouave from GB. It was my poot luck that the rifle did not come with an instuction booklet.
What I need to know is what equipment I need to get, what powder & primer to use and what shot to use? The rifle did come with a really cheap and cheeze powder flasj made from what I think my be brass.

T.I.A.

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    hey guys, im new to the sport and hoping you guys can throw some info in my direction. i guess im looking for do's, dont's, maybe what 'loads' you have used...which you believe work good (deer, elk, etc), bullets, cleaners, etc etc ive never shot one and im getting pretty dang anxious to hit the range...so anything you can offer up would be great!

if it matters, its a knight revolution II.

many thanks.

scott
  • Options
    allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,242 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have one of those rifles.
    I shoot .570 round balls with 70 grains of ffg black powder.
    You can also shoot Minie balls, just use 60 or 70 grains black powder.
    Try the .575 Minie ball.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Well that covers the shot, but what about gear and powder?
  • Options
    allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,242 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Go to dixiegun.com

Get Old Zip Patch Lube for lubing the patches.
    Get pillow ticking and cut your own patches.
    Get a nice brass powder measure. You don't need a powder horn, but if you want one, why not?
    There is a little plastic fitting that screws on top of the powder can, instead of the lid. It is funnel shaped. It allows you to pour powder directly into the measure without spilling.