In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

lubing and sizing 50 cal bullets

kfbrown14kfbrown14 Member Posts: 11 ✭✭
i am very new to casting black powder bullets i have a lyman mold that makes 370 gr maxi ball 50 cal type bullets i want to lube and size them in my lyman idea lubrisizer my stupid question is what size die do i want to use i have found lots of them anywhere from 490 to 516

Comments

• Options
    HandLoadHandLoad Member Posts: 15,998
    edited November -1
    Black Powder molds from Lyman come with a paper that says that they don't need to be sized - just lube 'em and shoot'em! That is what I am doing with the Dual mold that makes round balls and 320 R.E.A.L. "conical". Works pretty good - frist shot went into the bull at 25 yards, with 100 grains equivalent 777 pellets. Gonna try three pellets tomorrow, at 50 yards, then I figure I'll adjust sights to do it at 75 yards, point of aim.

Fun Stuff, casting and lubing and shooting - I'm new to Black Powder, but have been shooting and reloading for over 40 years.
  • Options
    Fletcher PastoreFletcher Pastore Member Posts: 19 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    The sizer you use depends on the gun you are shooting them in.
  • Options
    kfbrown14kfbrown14 Member Posts: 11 ✭✭
    edited November -1
  • Options
    edited November -1