In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

44-40 loading specs

fvpd201fvpd201 Member Posts: 44 ✭✭
I am new to action shooting and in need of some suggetions on loading specs for the 44-40 round.

I have a SAA 4 3/4" amd 5 1/2" and a 1860 Henry all made by Uberti which I intend on using.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Best regards,

Mark J

Comments

• Options
    44caliberkid44caliberkid Member Posts: 925 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Are you going to use smokeless or black powder?
  • Options
    fvpd201fvpd201 Member Posts: 44 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    My intention is to use smokeless powder. I did an internet search earlier and found a 2005 article that referenced IMR "Trail Boss" powder. The article called for 6.4 gr with a 200gr bullet.

Not knowing different, I would really appreaciate some tried and proved alternatives.

Thanks much,

Mark J
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Yes, that's good data for Trailboss. Max charge of TB is 6.5 grains, so anything in the 6+ grains up to that is OK.
    Titegroup is another very popular CAS powder. Use 5.5 to 6.0 with a 200 grain lead bullet.
    200 grain bullets are the norm for 44-40's.
    Another load you might try, a little on the warmer side, is 7.5 grains of Unique. Make sure your scale and powder measure are accurate though, because Unique is a little less forgiving if you go over the proper weight than Trail Boss or Titegroup.
  • Options
    longspur riderlongspur rider Member Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    How about a formula fo using Hodgdon clays powder? Just got the dies for loader for 44-40 but having trouble finding the shell holder for them.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Clays is 4.2 - 5.0 grains with a 200 grain bullet. A shell holder that fits 45 Colt will also work for 44-40.
  • Options