In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Pyrodex P problems.

lksmith03lksmith03 Member Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭✭✭
Hey all, I have recently acquired an Uberti 1858 remington 44cal, stainless.
Unfortunately I am having problems with misfires (no hangfires luckily) even using magnum caps.
I have done some reading and some folks are using FFg BP in pistols, and have said that Pyrodex doesn't ignite as easily.
I am thinking of doing a duplex load of sorts with 5gr of FFg topped with 20gr of Pyrodex, essentially using the FFg (which I am told ignites easier) as an extension of the cap behind a pure lead ball
My thinking is that since the granulation is larger than FFFG, and thus slower burning the pressure is lower and "should" be safe.
Since I am new to BP revolver shooting (but not new to shooting or BP rifles) What do some of you more experienced folks think

Comments

• flyingcollieflyingcollie Member Posts: 197 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    ?? I hope to learn something here, too. For my part, I've never had problems with cap and ball repro pistols, I've been shooting 'em for over 40 years, but never shot anything but FFFg black powder, the recommended "original" loads for the proper weight balls.

I'd think you'd have no worries at all with "original" loads in a stainless piece . . .
  • slumlord44slumlord44 Member Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Always worked for me. In my experience you must make sure Pyrodex is well compressed or there can be ingition problems. Do not be gentle when raming the ball home.
  • allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,183 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I see no problem with using 5 gr of ffg under 20 gr of Pyrodex.

Why don't you just use 25 gr of fffg black powder?
  • bartman45bartman45 Member Posts: 3,008 ✭✭
    edited November -1